Lincoln Network and The OpenGov Foundation are joining forces to present the 2017 Door Stop Awards for Congressional Innovation and Transparency.

The Door Stop Awards, first awarded in 2016, recognize at least one Republican and one Democrat Member or former Member and one Republican and one Democrat staffer who have contributed to significant and sustained Congressional innovation and openness. While these legislative branch change-agents play different roles in creating a 21st Century Congress, their common attributes are two-fold. First, each has driven structural improvements, innovations and an openness that lasts, creatively using technology, information and a deep knowledge of Congressional systems. And second, each Door Stop Award Winner has kept the doors of the legislative branch open to innovation over time while operating in an incredibly challenging environment.

The inaugural class of Door Stop Award winners include: Speaker John Boehner (R-OH), Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer (D-MD), Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-VA), Congressman Jared Polis (D-CO), Jo-Marie St. Martin and Karina Newton.

This year's awards will be presented on May 17 in Washington, D.C. as part of Lincoln Network's Reboot Congress. The ceremony will be held at an evening party honoring the nominees and recipients.

The deadline for nominations is April 21, 2017 at 9 PM EST. Any current or former Member of Congress, Congressional staffer, or non-governmental organization focused on the federal legislative branch is eligible for a Door Stop Award.

Related Topics